Skip to content

A Christian Nation

April 16, 2009

Our president Barack Obama is in the news a lot these days, most notably for some who perked up when he said “we do not consider ourselves a Christian nation.” It is no surprise to you, since I have said it myself numerous times, I agree. Here is brief commentary on the subject by John Mark Reynolds.

He says of himself that he puts the Bible, That Hideous Strength by C. S. Lewis and Lord of the Rings by J. R. Tolkien at the top ten lists of books that have most influenced his life and in that order. He says of the Bible “I don’t remember a time when the stories of this book were not being read to me and I read it every day. My parents raised me in an atmosphere super-saturated with this Book of Books.” And of C. S. Lewis’s book he says “it gives the truest account of the state of the West written in the last one hundred years.

Read his article Obama: The Christian as President.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

